For
 
Matamoros Restaurant Y Cantina
You are in: Home  > Matamoros Restaurant Y Can...
Rewards Calendar
Log in now to see when benefits are available at this location.
Not a member? Join now!
Hours of Operation
Mon 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sun 11:00AM - 09:00PM
Features
Payment Options: American Express® , Discover® , MasterCard® , Visa®
Date Rating Helpful

4.0 out of 5

V P
SAN ANTONIO, TX
03.30.2015
Arrived just before happy hour ended but the waiter made sure our first round went under Happy Hour. Very good food, average atmosphere, but not blaring mexican music like some do, just because it is a mexican restaurant, so more enjoyable than some. Great menu with variety and traditional mexican as well.

Was this review helpful?     Flag this review as inappropriate

5.0 out of 5

A D
SAN ANTONIO, TX
03.30.2015
Matamoros is one of the top restaurant choices of my ladies' lunch group. We love the food, and we especially like the quiet atmosphere that facilitates easy conversation. The staff is polite, helpful, and agreeable to our staying awhile to visit. Also, the prices are very reasonable, and the food is topnotch. One of my favorite restauants!

Was this review helpful?     Flag this review as inappropriate

4.0 out of 5

R P
HELOTES, TX
03.24.2015
Went through avery busy Lunch Hour, service was quick under the cercumstances

Was this review helpful?     Flag this review as inappropriate

3.0 out of 5

E L
SAN ANTONIO, TX
03.19.2015
The reason for the low rating on the food was the fact that it was not up to what we are used to from Matamoros! Even the salsa was flat (not spicy) and seemed to have been made with tomato paste and sauce. Not the usual fresh tomato type salsa. Also, the beef fajitas were not cooked well - too much "pink". Took food home to re-cook. This is the first time we have had any complaints since the restaurant opened except to ask why they changed from "ranchero" (whole) beans to re-fried a couple of years ago. We will continue going except we will not order the fajitas unless we go for lunch - seems things are cooked better at that time. Different cook????

Was this review helpful?     Flag this review as inappropriate

4.0 out of 5

C B
HELOTES, TX
03.18.2015
Our waiter was excellent. He knew the menu well and helped with recommendations since this was our first visit. Service was speedy and accurate. I will probably return to try some of the other dishes. The only negative comment is that I prefer my Mexican food to be very spicy - somewhere between jalapeno and habanero hot. All of the dishes were rather mild, including the salsa.

Was this review helpful?     Flag this review as inappropriate

3.0 out of 5

D J
SAN ANTONIO, TX
03.18.2015
I can't really give a fair review because I didn't order a dinner. I have a gluten allergy, and there were only a couple of things I could order, and neither one sounded like something I would like. My friends seemed to enjoy their meals. I would definitely give the restaurant a second try if they offered more gluten free options.

Was this review helpful?     Flag this review as inappropriate

4.0 out of 5

G P
SAN ANTONIO, TX
03.18.2015
Food and Service both beyond reproach. I had the Shrimp Fajitas. Excellent taste and seasoning. Accompanied by charro beans, rice, guacamole and pico. My Son had the seafood enchiladas; which were also unite tasty. Service was excellent even though the restaurant was very busy. We will return.

Was this review helpful?     Flag this review as inappropriate

4.0 out of 5

T T
SAN ANTONIO, TX
03.17.2015
Great food. Nice servers.

Was this review helpful?     Flag this review as inappropriate

5.0 out of 5

A A
SAN ANTONIO, TX
03.12.2015
We love to dine at Matamoros and especially when the family is celebrating birthdays or anniversaries. On this occasion my son and daughter and their families were celebrating their parents 43rd wedding anniversary. I had my specialty which is the beef fajita platter and my wife had the soup and salad. The rest of the family had various plates of enchiladas, salmon, and crispy taco platters. It was a joyous occasion and the food was great and the service was excellent.

Was this review helpful?     Flag this review as inappropriate

4.0 out of 5

D W
SAN ANTONIO, TX
03.11.2015
Attended a group birthday party with a large group of friends, the food was good which is nothing unusual but the service was not quite up to par with the past but that's forgivable considering the group was much larger than normal. Will likely be back again in the future.

Was this review helpful?     Flag this review as inappropriate
Share & Add to Favorites


Member Rating
4.1 out of 5
Food
4.0 out of 5
Service
4.2 out of 5
Cleanliness
4.1 out of 5
Value
4.1 out of 5
Based on 329 responses
Recent Member Reviews
V P
SAN ANTONIO, TX
03.30.2015
4.0 out of 5
"Arrived just before happy hour ended but the waiter made sure our first round went under Happy ..."
1 of 99 Reviews
A D
SAN ANTONIO, TX
03.30.2015
5.0 out of 5
"Matamoros is one of the top restaurant choices of my ladies' lunch group. We love the food, an..."
2 of 99 Reviews
R P
HELOTES, TX
03.24.2015
4.0 out of 5
"Went through avery busy Lunch Hour, service was quick under the cercumstances "
3 of 99 Reviews
Ratings are provided by members who have visited this location. There must be at least five responses in order to show the rating. All member ratings will expire after 12 months, so only recent feedback is incorporated.

After visiting a program location, a member can anonymously share his or her opinion by completing a short survey on the "Rewards History" page within "My Account Center." Note that the completion of this survey is required to build benefits.
Reviews are written by members who have dined and can earn benefits at this location. To keep it current, member reviews expire and are removed from the site after 12 months. Rewards NetworkSM reserves the right to block, edit or remove any member review. Members can write a review after they dined at a location by visiting their "Benefits History" page within "Account Center."